|
|
|
|
Recommended Information Resources and On-line Databases
Listed By Subject
|
|
Go to Alphabetical Listing
Click on a subject
heading below to expand or collapse it.
-
Arts & Humanities
CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
This is a premiere resource of works of art from around the world
contributed and described by leading museums. Showcasing a wide range of
fine and decorative art, CAMIO provides high-quality art images for
education, research and enjoyment.
HAND PRESS BOOK
Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
The Hand Press Book Database is a unique and growing
catalog of European printing in the early modern era or “hand-press
period” (15th century to the 1830s). This resource integrates descriptive
records for major European national, university and research library
holdings. It is especially valuable for research in intellectual history,
social history and transmission of thought—as well as the history of
printing and the history of the book.
HISTORY OF SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY AND MEDICINE (HSTM)
Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
HSTM integrates four premier tools (Isis Current Bibliography of the
History of Science, Current Bibliography in the History of Technology,
Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and citations from the
Wellcome Library) to create an international bibliography for the history
of science, technology and medicine. It reflects the influence of these
fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present and offers
outstanding value for interdisciplinary research. Database records
describe journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and
dissertations in all scientific disciplines and related fields. Citations
reflect the contents of nearly 9,500 journals.
SCIPIO: ART AND RARE BOOK SALES CATALOGS
Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs is the
only online union catalog of auction catalog records in existence. This
database provides bibliographic access to auction sales catalogs from all
major North American and European auction houses as well as private
sales—valuable sources of information on the provenance of art objects and
rare books, the history of collection, and contemporary and historical
market trends.
SIRS RENAISSANCE
Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
Provides dynamic information on the following topics: architecture and
design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts,
philosophy and religion, and visual arts. Full-text articles are selected
from more than 1,200 domestic and international publications. Many
articles are accompanied by full-color images, including art
reproductions, photographs, and illustrations.
-
Automotive
-
ALLDATA
Available in the Library only
A comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair
information.
-
CHILTON LIBRARY
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair
information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make,
and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30
years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.
-
Biography
Business & Legal
-
BUSINESS AND COMPANY ASAP
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Providing researchers with information on companies, markets
and industries. From market trends, mergers, and acquisitions to current
management theory and company overviews. Access business and trade
journals, newspapers, and company directory profiles with full text and
images.
BUSINESS AND COMPANY RESOURCE CENTER
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
This is fully integrated resource bringing together company
profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company
histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Search this database to find
detailed company and industry news and information
-
CQ RESEARCHER
Requires library's CQ researcher login and
password
CQ Researcher offers original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on
issues shaping our world. Used to complete an assignment, prepare for a
debate, or become a quick expert on a topic, each 12,000-word report is
a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. CQ
Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and
social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international
affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
-
INFOTRAC
VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Requires
your Chesterfield library card
number
A collection of
electronic books on various subjects, such as business, social studies,
history, medicine, and science.
-
INFOTRAC
GENERAL BUSINESSFILE
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
General Business File ASAP includes full-text journals, investment
reports, directory listings, and newswire releases. Specific titles
include:
Crain's Detroit Business and Forbes, as well as listings from Ward's
Business
Directory. It covers 1980 to the present.
LEGALTRAC
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
LegalTrac includes indexing from 1,800 titles: major law reviews, legal
newspapers, law specialty publications, bar association journals, and
international
legal journals. Also included are law related articles from over 1,000
additional business and general interest titles. It covers 1980 to the
present.
STATE BAR OF
MICHIGAN
Available to everyone
Links on the page direct users to general articles on finding legal
help; locating Michigan law libraries; researching law; and to other
general Michigan law websites. In addition, pages provide more
detailed information and links in the areas of family law, elder law,
criminal law, wills and trusts, and landlord-tenant law.
-
Careers
CAREER
CRUISING
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Career Cruising has been designed with one goal in mind: to help
students plan their future. With exceptional assessment tools,
detailed occupation profiles, and comprehensive post-secondary
education information, students move seamlessly through the career
exploration and planning proce
LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY
Initial registration must be in the library.
After that this is accessible from home.
Learning Express Library contains test preparation materials and
interactive
practice exams, based on official tests, that will help you improve
your
scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing
and certification exams. Immediate scoring, complete answer
explanations,
and individualized analysis of your score is provided.
-
Community
-
Computers
-
COMPUTER
DATABASE
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Computer Database provides full-text, index and image articles from
periodicals on the computer, telecommunications, and electronics
industries.
This resource includes 150 indexed and 103 full-text titles. Time
period
covered is the current year plus 3 years.
-
Education
-
EDUCATOR'S REFERENCE COMPLETE
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of more than 450 full-text
academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier
reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles,
child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC
database..
-
ERIC
Requires library's FirstSearch authorization
number and password
Citations and abstracts of educational resources from 1966. Includes
journal articles, theses, conference papers and curriculum.
INFOTRAC
K12 PROFESSIONAL COLLECTION
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
InfoTrac K12 Professional includes more than 300 full text journals
for educators. Resources are updated daily.
-
LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY
Initial registration must be in the library.
After that this is accessible from home.
LearnATest.com Library contains test preparation materials and
interactive
practice exams, based on official tests, that will help you improve
your
scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing
and certification exams. Immediate scoring, complete answer
explanations,
and individualized analysis of your score is provided.
-
Genealogy & History
AMERICA'S
OBITUARIES & DEATH NOTICES
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
A collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices. An ideal
resource for genealogical research. Easily searchable by name of
the deceased, date range, or text, such as residence, occupation,
hobbies,
family members or other personal information, contained in the obituary
or death notice. Covers major and regional newspapers in the
United
States.
-
ANCESTRY
LIBRARY EDITION
Available in the Library only
This database offers full-text information on genealogy resources.
-
INFOTRAC VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Requires
your Chesterfield library card
number
A collection of
electronic books on various subjects, such as business, social studies,
history, medicine, and science.
-
HERITAGE
QUEST ONLINE
Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
HeritageQuest Online
includes all of the images and extensive indexing from the 1790 - 1930
U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 22,000 digitized book titles,
including early family histories and local histories. Additionally, there
are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city
directories, probate records and more. It also includes Periodical Source
Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant
Application Files, the Freedman’s Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set
Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions.
-
HISTORY OF SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY AND MEDICINE (HSTM)
Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
HSTM integrates four premier tools (Isis Current Bibliography of the
History of Science, Current Bibliography in the History of Technology,
Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and citations from the
Wellcome Library) to create an international bibliography for the history
of science, technology and medicine. It reflects the influence of these
fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present and offers
outstanding value for interdisciplinary research. Database records
describe journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and
dissertations in all scientific disciplines and related fields. Citations
reflect the contents of nearly 9,500 journals.
-
THE MAKING OF MODERN MICHIGAN
Available to everyone.
This database is a collaborative
project involving more than 50 Michigan libraries. It includes local
history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique
heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral
histories, genealogical materials, and much more.
-
SLC DIGITAL MEDIA ARCHIVE
Available to everyone.
This resource gives users access to historical and genealogical
materials in digital form. View old pictures, maps, and documents
from Macomb County, Troy, and Harper Woods.
-
merica.
WORLD HISTORY: ABC-CLIO
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
A comprehensive and sweeping view of the world's events, issues, people
and ideas over the last five centuries.
Has 15,000+ reference entries and more
than 60 interactive topic explorations for students. Regularly updated
features providing historical context and analysis. Easy-access
content correlated to curriculum with links the present with the past
with in-depth features that provide historical background and
context to significant current events
-
General Information
-
INFOTRAC POWERSEARCH
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
This link allows users to search in one convenient step all of the Gale
databases provided by the Michigan ELibrary (MeL).
-
INFOTRAC VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Requires
your Chesterfield library card
number
A collection of
electronic books on various subjects, such as business, social studies,
history, medicine, and science.
-
GPO
MONTHLY CATALOG
Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
Citations of documents printed by the United States in all subject
areas. Coverage from 1976. Produced by the U.S. Government Printing
Office.
-
MEL
INTERNET
Available to everyone.
Librarian-recommended websites, compiled
by Michigan Electronic Library.
-
TURFGRASS INFORMATION FILE (TGIF)

Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
A cooperative effort of
Michigan State University Libraries and the United States Golf
Association, this database contains the most comprehensive publicly
available collection of turfgrass educational materials in the world,
numbering over 100,000.
-
WORLD
ALMANAC
Requires library's FirstSearch authorization
number and password
Full text access to the following printed products: The World Almanac
and Book of Facts 1998, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World
Almanac
of U.S. Politics, and The World Almanac for Kids. Coverage of the arts
and entertainment, U.S. cities and states, people in the news, the
nations
of the world, sports, the environment, vital statistics, science and
technology,
computers, taxes and much more.
-
Health & Medicine
-
CINAHL BASIC
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
CINAHL provides indexing for 2,931 journals with 1,000,000
records dating back to 1981, covering nursing, biomedicine, health
sciences librarianship, complementary medicine, consumer health and 17
allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers indexing to
health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference
proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals
and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,200
journals are also included. Full text material includes 70 journals plus
legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records,
research instruments and clinical trials. Contains only limited full
text (70 journals).
-
EBSCO ELDERCARE
Requires your Chesterfield library card number.
Eldercare provides a reliable source of eldercare-related information,
databases, and local/state/national resources that can be used to empower
Americans to make intelligent, informed eldercare decisions. Consumers
are able to use a sophisticated search environment to gain access to
proprietary, comprehensive reports on over 90,000 eldercare facilities
and services throughout the United States, including: 17,000 reports on
nursing homes, 45,000 assisted living facilities, and 23,000 home health
care programs.
-
HEALTH
AND WELLNESS RESOURCE CENTER
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Provides access to articles for the last five years on Fitness,
Pregnancy,
Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health &
Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, and
more.
HEALTH REFERENCE CENTER ACADEMIC
Requires
your Chesterfield library card
number
An integrated collection
of general interest health and
fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets.
-
MEDLINE
Requires library's FirstSearch authorization
number and password
Citations and abstracts from 1985 to articles in all areas of medicine.
International coverage of 3,500 journals.
Kids/Homework
CULTUREGRAMS
Requires library's Culturegrams User name and
password
CultureGrams offers concise, reliable, and up-to-date information on
the cultures of the world, including the history, customs, and
lifestyles of the world's people. CultureGrams Online has photo
and recipe collections, biographies of famous people, maps, and more.
ELIBRARY
ELEMENTARY
Requires the library's Elibrary user name and password
Reference information specially selected for K-6 school students. It
includes complete full-text content from select magazines, books,
newspapers,
TV Transcripts, pictures, and maps.
INFOTRAC
JUNIOR EDITION
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
InfoTrac Junior Edition is designed for junior high and middle school
students. Contents include more than 100 indexed and 90 full text
magazines
plus several basic reference titles, images, and maps.
INFOTRAC
KID’S
EDITION
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Kids Edition is a full text database for elementary school students
(K-6). This database contains full text articles taken from over 35
magazines,
along with several newspapers and reference books. The database covers
the current year plus the previous three years.
INFOTRAC
STUDENT EDITION
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
InfoTrac Student is designed for secondary school students and includes
some of the topics students most often research. Includes newspapers,
reference
books, historical images and maps. Contents include over 330 indexed
and
270 full text titles.
ISSUES
AND CONTROVERSIES
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Reference database of more than 250 controversial topics in the news since
September 1995 combining objective analysis, clear explanations of
opposing viewpoints, chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars,
and bibliographies.
KIDS
INFOBITS
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Geared towards juvenile patrons, this new database from Gale contains
full text articles, charts, graphs and maps from periodicals and
encyclopedias.
SIRS
DISCOVERER
Requires library's SirsDiscover authorization
number and password.
This database, geared towards kids, contains thousands of full-text
articles selected from more than 1000 magazines, newspapers, and
government
documents.
Language
-
INFORME!
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos
completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de
actualidad y otras materias.
Literature & Books
-
LITERATURE
RESOURCE CENTER
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis
of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than
90,000
novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with
in-depth
coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
-
MELCAT
Available to everyone.
A statewide catalog of
items held in participating libraries, sponsored by Michigan Electronic
Library.
-
MICHIGAN
AUTHORS
AND ILLUSTRATORS
DATABASE
Available to everyone.
Michigan Authors and Illustrators (MIAI) is a database of information
on authors and illustrators born in Michigan, who live in Michigan, or
who have written books about or set in Michigan. Each entry includes
biographical
information, lists of works by the person and lists of works about the
person. Click on the link labeled "Search MIAI Database Only" to
begin searching.
-
NETLIBRARY
Initial registration must be in the library.
After that this is accessible from home.
A collection of netLibrary electronic books funded by the
AccessMichigan
project. This collection, which includes more than 8,000 titles, has
books
on a wide variety of subjects including science, business, consumer
law,
self-help, and literary criticism.
-
NOVELIST
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
NoveList
lets users search for fiction
books. Find titles by author, plot, or
series. It even has topics for book
discussion groups and lists of award-winning titles.
-
WHAT
DO I
READ NEXT?
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
A reader's advisory database featuring more than 70,000 recommended
titles.
-
WORLDCAT
Requires library's FirstSearch authorization
number and password
Citations to all types of materials owned by libraries throughout the
United States of America.
-
Magazine Articles
ACADEMIC ONEFILE
Requires
your Chesterfield library card
number
Articles from more than 8,000 scholarly
journals covering a wide range of subjects.
EXPANDED
ACADEMIC ASAP
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Expanded Academic ASAP includes indexing, abstracts, full-text and
images covering all academic disciplines. Included are over 3,000
indexed
and 1,900 full-text titles.
INFOTRAC
POWER SEARCH
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Use this general interest database to search magazines, journals, reference
books, digital books
and newspapers for information.
INFOTRAC
GENERAL REFERENCE CENTER
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Use this general interest database to search magazines, reference
books,
and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the
arts and sciences, sports, and more.
INFOTRAC
ONEFILE
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
InfoTrac OneFile includes more than 25 million database records from
nearly 8,000 titles, with more than 20 years of backfile coverage from
1980 to the present. Topics include agriculture, anthropology, arts,
business,
communications, economics, engineering, health care, history, law,
literature,
psychology, political science, religion, sciences, technology, and
more.
UNION
LIST OF PERIODICALS
Requires library's FirstSearch authorization
number and password
Holdings of 7 million journals throughout the United States of America.
Useful to determine if a library owns a specific journal issue.
WILSON
SELECT
Requires library's FirstSearch authorization
number and password
Full text articles from more than 439 periodical titles.
Newspapers
AMERICA'S
OBITUARIES & DEATH NOTICES
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
A collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices. An ideal
resource for genealogical research. Easily searchable by name of
the deceased, date range, or text, such as residence, occupation,
hobbies,
family members or other personal information, contained in the obituary
or death notice. Covers major and regional newspapers in the
United
States.
DETROIT
FREE
PRESS
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Full Text of this local newspaper from 1982 to the present. Also
includes other MediaStream newspapers.
DETROIT
NEWS
Requires your Chesterfield library card number.
Full text of this local newspaper from 1999.
INFOTRAC
CUSTOM NEWSPAPERS
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
This database provides full text coverage from 1996-current of 120
of the most prolific newspapers in the U.S. and the world.
GRAND
RAPIDS PRESS
Requires your Chesterfield library card number.
Full text of this newspaper from 2000.
LANSING
STATE JOURNAL
Requires your Chesterfield library card number.
Full text of this newspaper from 1999.
NEW
YORK TIMES
Requires your Chesterfield library card number
Full text of this newspaper for the past 12 months. Updated daily.
Science
-
INFOTRAC
VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
A collection of
electronic books on various subjects, such as business, social studies,
history, medicine, and science.
-
Social Studies
-
CULTUREGRAMS
Requires library's Culturegrams User name and
password
CultureGrams offers concise, reliable, and up-to-date information on
the cultures of the world, including the history, customs, and
lifestyles of the world's people. CultureGrams Online has photo
and recipe collections, biographies of famous people, maps, and more.
-
INFOTRAC
VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Requires a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number
A collection of
electronic books on various subjects, such as business, social studies,
history, medicine, and science.
|
|
|
|
|
|
Museum Adventure Pass |
|
Check out a free pass to a local museum
from the library. Click
here for more information. |
|
MLC Digital Download Center |
|
Check out Digital ebooks, audio books,
and videos from home. Click here
for more information. |
|
Great Michigan Reads! |
|
Imagine everyone in Michigan reading the
same book. At the same time! Click
here for more info. |
|
 |