Macomb County Library
"Your Research and Reference Center"

 

 

 

   Online Information

 

Online Databases Listed Alphabetically

Search By Subject

Make a selection and follow the authorization instructions.  If you don't know the authorization, you may call the Library at (586) 286-6660 or stop in for a database brochure.

 

A   B  C   E   G   H   I   L   M   P   R   S   W


[ A ]

Alt Health Watch
Logon & Password Required
Full-text coverage of alternative medicine topics from journals, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, academic and professional publications and research reports.  Coverage from 1990 to the present.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ B ]

Biography Resource Center
Logon & Password Required
Full-text coverage of biographical information from reference sources, magazines and journals.  Search for people by  name, birth/death year, nationality or ethnicity, occupation, gender, or a combination of criteria.

Business and Company Resource Center
Authorization Required
Full-text company profiles and histories, industry and brand information, investment reports, rankings, chronologies and news/magazine articles.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ C ]

Career Cruising
Macomb County Library Card Required
Career Cruising has been designed with one goal in mind: to help students plan their future. With exceptional assessment tools, detailed occupation profiles, and comprehensive post-secondary education information, students move seamlessly through the career exploration and planning process.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ E ]

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Logon
& Password Required
An online version of three Britannica encyclopedias with extra features and links to related information sources.  Includes a dictionary, thesaurus, and world atlas.

ERIC Documents
Logon & Password Required
ERIC is the world's largest index to journal articles and documents in education.  ERIC is a gateway to full-text education resources from 1993 forward in electronic image format.  Some documents not available electronically will be available on microfiche.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ G ]

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Logon
& Password Required
Contains encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries.

General Business File
Authorization
Required
Contains articles from 1982 to the present on companies, new technologies and products, local and regional business trends, finance, banking, investment information, acquisitions and mergers,  international trade and money management.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ H ]

HeritageQuest Online
Macomb
County Library Card Required

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI Genealogy and Local History Collection.

History Reference Center
Logon
& Password Required
Features full-text for over 50 leading history periodicals.  Also includes more than 400 full-text reference books and encyclopedias, and thousands of historical documents, photos and maps.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ L ]

Literature Resource Center
Logon & Password Required
Provides full-text access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.  Covers over 120,000 writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ M ]

The Making of Modern Michigan
Access Available - No Password
Required
This database is a collaborative project involving more than 50 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more.

MeL Magazines, Newspapers and eBooks
The Michigan eLibrary (MeL) is an information gateway to selected Internet resources, electronic books and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.  InfoTrac, Learn-a-Test and WorldCat are just a few of these databases.
For Michigan residents only:  using your driver's license or state ID, access MeL from your library, from your library's web page or from anywhere you have an Internet connection.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ P ]

PatronBooksInPrint.com
Macomb County Library Card Required
Use this database to search for books in and out of print.  Over 1.9 million titles retrievable by title, author, subject, publisher, publication date, ISBN and more.

PsycARTICLES
Logon
& Password Required
Searchable full-text articles covering current issues in psychology from 1988 to the present.  This database contains all articles, errata and letters to the editor from 40-plus journals.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ R ]

Reference USA
Macomb
County Library Card Required
Contains business and consumer databases.  Business database covers over 11 million businesses.  Offers customization of searches by business type, SIC code, employee size, sales volume, geographic area and by other criteria.  Consumer database is compiled from phone book information, covering 100 million individuals, and is updated monthly.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ S ]

Small Business Resource Center
Authorization
Required
This comprehensive, online database offers a combination of unparalleled periodical and reference content, covering all major areas of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax and more.

- Back to the TOP

 

[ W ]

What Do I Read Next?
Logon
& Password Required
Includes over 100,000 recommended titles and 54,000 plot summaries.  Search by genre, subject, author, title, series and more, to find old favorites, new titles, and award winning books.

World Book Online
Logon & Password Required
An online version of World Book Encyclopedia with extra features and links to related information sources.  Includes an atlas.

- Back to the TOP

 

 


Home
   My Account   Library Catalogs   Online Information   Ask a Librarian   About the Library   Special Library Collections
Computer Classes   Library Programs   Literacy   MLBPH   Friends   Macomb County Government   Contact Us   Site Map

_____________________________________________________________________

© 2008  Macomb County Library  16480 Hall  Clinton Twp., MI  48038   (586) 286-6660

 

 

 


Hit Counter