Databases
Listed alphabetically
[Go to Subject Listing]
|
|
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
|
| [A] |
ALLDATA
A comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information. |
ANCESTRY LIBRARY EDITION
This database offers full-text information on genealogy resources. |
APPLIED SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY ABSTRACTS
Citations and abstracts provided for trade and industrial publications as well as professional journals from 1983. |
ART ABSTRACTS
Citations from 1984 and abstracts from 1994. Provides international coverage of the art world. |
ARTICLEFIRST DATABASE
Citations from science, technology, medicine, social science, business and humanities journals from 1990. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [B] |
BIOGRAPHY INDEX
Citations to biographical information for all subject areas from 1984. |
BIOGRAPHY RESOURCE CENTER
This is a comprehensive online biographical reference database that combines approximately 50 of the most frequently consulted Gale biographical databases with more than 250 full-text periodicals. |
BIOLOGICAL & AGRICULTURAL INDEX
Citations to biology and agriculture journals from 1983. |
BIZINFO TRIAL
A research solution that delivers verified data on more than 12 million U.S. businesses. Leveraging information from Experian's National Business Database, BizInfo Online provides you with the most data available on small and mid-sized businesses in an easy-to-use format.
|
BOOK REVIEW DIGEST
Citations and abstracts of book reviews of adult and children's fiction and nonfiction from 1983. |
BUSINESS & COMPANY RESOURCE CENTER
Business & Company Resource Center, produced by the Gale Group, brings together in a single database company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [C] |
COMPUTER DATABASE
Computer Database provides full-text, index and image articles from periodicals on the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. This resource includes 150 indexed and 103 full-text titles. Time period covered is the current year plus 3 years. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [D] |
DETROIT FREE PRESS
Full Text of this local newspaper from 1982 to the present. Also includes other MediaStream newspapers. |
DETROIT NEWS
Full text of this local newspaper from 1999. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [E] |
EDUCATION ABSTRACTS
Citations from 1983 and abstracts from 1994 of 400 leading periodicals in education. |
ELIBRARY ELEMENTARY
Reference information specially selected for K-6 school students. It includes complete full-text content from select magazines, books, newspapers, TV Transcripts, pictures, and maps. |
ERIC
Citations and abstracts of educational resources from 1966. Includes journal articles, theses, conference papers and curriculum. |
ESSAY AND GENERAL LITERATURE INDEX
This database cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. |
EXPANDED ACADEMIC ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP includes indexing, abstracts, full-text and images covering all academic disciplines. Included are over 3,000 indexed and 1,900 full-text titles. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [G] |
GENERAL SCIENCE ABSTRACTS
Citations from 1984 and abstracts from 1993 of 150 journals covering anthropology, astronomy, biology, computers, earth sciences, medicine and health. |
GPO MONTHLY CATALOG
Citations of documents printed by the United States in all subject areas. Coverage from 1976. Produced by the U.S. Government Printing Office. |
GRAND RAPIDS PRESS
Full text of this newspaper from 2000. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [H] |
HEALTH AND WELLNESS RESOURCE CENTER
Provides access to articles for the last five years on Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, and more. |
HUMANITIES ABSTRACTS
Citations from 1984 and abstracts from 1994. Coverage of archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [I] |
INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICALS & BOOKS
Citations from 1981 to articles from legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law reviews and government publications. |
INFOTRAC CUSTOM NEWSPAPERS
This database provides full text coverage from 1996-current of 120 of the most prolific newspapers in the U.S. and the world. |
INFOTRAC GENERAL BUSINESSFILE
General Business File ASAP includes full-text journals, investment reports, directory listings, and newswire releases. Specific titles include: Crain's Detroit Business and Forbes, as well as listings from Ward's Business Directory. It covers 1980 to the present. |
INFOTRAC GENERAL REFERENCE CENTER
Use this general interest database to search magazines from 1980, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, and more. |
INFOTRAC JUNIOR EDITION
InfoTrac Junior Edition is designed for junior high and middle school students.Contents include more than 100 indexed and 90 full text magazines plus several basic reference titles, images, and maps. |
INFOTRAC K12 PROFESSIONAL COLLECTION
InfoTrac K12 Professional includes more than 300 full text journals for educators. Resources are updated daily. |
INFOTRAC KID'S EDITION
Kids Edition is a full text database for elementary school students (K-6). This database contains full text articles taken from over 35 magazines, along with several newspapers and reference books. The database covers the current year plus the previous three years. |
INFOTRAC ONEFILE
InfoTrac OneFile includes more than 25 million database records from nearly 8,000 titles, with more than 20 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to the present. Topics include agriculture, anthropology, arts, business, communications, economics, engineering, health care, history, law, literature, psychology, political science, religion, sciences, technology, and more. |
INFOTRAC STUDENT EDITION
InfoTrac Student is designed for secondary school students and includes some of the topics students most often research. Includes newspapers, reference books, historical images and maps. Contents include over 330 indexed and 270 full text titles. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [K] |
KIDS INFOBITS
Geared towards juvenile patrons, this new database from Gale contains full text articles, charts, graphs and maps from periodicals and encyclopedias. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [L] |
LANSING STATE JOURNAL
Full text of this newspaper from 1999. |
LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY .COM : LEARNATEST
LearnATest.com Library contains test preparation materials and interactive practice exams, based on official tests, that will help you improve your scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and individualized analysis of your score is provided. |
LEGALTRAC
LegalTrac includes indexing from 1,800 titles: major law reviews, legal newspapers, law specialty publications, bar association journals, and international legal journals. Also included are law related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. It covers 1980 to the present. |
LIBRARY LITERATURE
Citations from 1984 of the library and information science fields. Coverage of over 200 periodicals and more than 600 monographs per year. |
LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [M] |
THE MAKING OF MODERN MICHIGAN
This database is a collaborative project involving more than 50 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more. |
MAKING THE RIGHT CONNECTION
A user-friendly directory for Macomb County school personnel to help link students and their families with community services. |
MEDLINE
Citations and abstracts from 1985 to articles in all areas of medicine. International coverage of 3,500 journals. |
MICHIGAN AUTHORS AND ILLUSTRATORS DATABASE
Michigan Authors and Illustrators (MIAI) is a database of information on authors and illustrators born in Michigan, who live in Michigan, or who have written books about or set in Michigan. Each entry includes biographical information, lists of works by the person and lists of works about the person. Click on the link labelled "Search MIAI Database Only" to begin searching. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [N] |
NETLIBRARY
A collection of netLibrary electronic books funded by the AccessMichigan project. This collection, which includes more than 8,000 titles, has books on a wide variety of subjects including science, business, consumer law, self-help, and literary criticism. |
NEW YORK TIMES
Full text of this newspaper for the past 12 months. Updated daily. |
NOVELIST
Online reader's advisory service that helps users locate new fiction books based on books they have read or topics in which they are interested. This database includes full text reviews from 1996-current, book discussion guides, book talks and web links. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [O] |
OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press as well as content from other Gale sources. The database is a dynamic online library of current event topics – the facts and arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [P] |
PAPERSFIRST
Citations from 1993. Covers papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops and congresses in all subject areas. |
PROCEEDINGS FIRST
Citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [R] |
READERS' GUIDE ABSTRACTS
Citations and abstracts of popular periodicals in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage from 1983 in all subject areas. |
ROSETTA STONE
The Rosetta Stone's award-winning method uses thousands of real-life images, written text and voices of native speakers to teach you like a native learner.
The first time patrons access the site they will be required to Register. During registration the patron will create a Username and Password for accessing Rosetta Stone. The patron will also be required to enter a library card number. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [S] |
SIRS DISCOVERER
This database, geared towards kids, contains thousands of full-text articles selected from more than 1000 magazines, newspapers, and government documents. |
SLC DIGITAL MEDIA ARCHIVE
This resource gives users access to historical and genealogical materials in digital form. View old pictures, maps, and documents from Macomb County, Troy, and Harper Woods. |
SOCIAL SCIENCES ABSTRACTS
Citations from 1983 and abstracts from 1994 of 400 international periodicals. Coverage of sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [T] |
TAX FORMS - STATE & U.S.
Link to the Michigan Electronic Library tax forms page. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [U] |
UNION LIST OF PERIODICALS
Holdings of 7 million journals throughout the United States of America. Useful to determine if a library owns a specific journal issue. |
| Back to the TOP |
| [W] |
WHAT DO I READ NEXT?
A reader's advisory database featuring more than 70,000 recommended titles. |
WILSON BUSINESS ABSTRACTS
Citations from 1986 and abstracts from 1990 of 345 leading English language business magazines. Coverage includes accounting, finance, management and small business. |
WILSON SELECT
Full text articles from more than 439 periodical titles. |
WORLD ALMANAC
Full text access to the folliwng printed products: The World Almanac and Book of Facts 1998, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The WOrld Almanac of U.S. Politics, and The World Almanac for Kids. Coverage of the arts and entertainment, U.S. cities and states, people in the news, the nations of the world, sports, the environment, vital statistics, science and technology, computers, taxes and much more. |
WORLDCAT
Citations to all types of materials owned by libraries thoughout the United States of America. |
| Back to the TOP |